Home Page
Black Hawk Open
City of Birmingham
Postal Match
American Dewar
Members Only
Contact Us
NRA link
USA Shooting link
Civilian Marksmanship Program link
USST Alumni Association link
Contact Webmaster
Black Hawk Rifle Club logo


The Black Hawk Rifle Club, Inc. was organized in February 1936 by a group of shooters at the University of Chicago. The original name was the Blackhawk Rifle Club. A letter was sent to the NRA on May 8, 1936 seeking NRA Club status.

The charter members included:
Russell Wiles, Sr. - President
Russell Wiles, Jr. - Vice President
Ray L. Converse - Secretary & Treasurer
Edward K. Waters - Executive Officer
Eugene H. Pierce - Team Captain
Lois M. Pierce
Dana R. Simpson
Elizabeth Bliss
Bradford Wiles
Donald M. Trowbridge
F. Norris Hooton
Mildred Hooton
Carl T. Dunn
Aaron R. Eppstein
Cora E. Converse
Evelyn Trowbridge

The club was incorporated March 25, 1940 by the State of Illinois as Black Hawk Rifle Club, Inc. This certificate states that the club's object was,

"to promote and encourage proficiency in the use of small arms and in marksmanship; to provide facilities for the use of firearms to the members of said club and to other persons; to acquire, hold, use, let or lease buildings and premises and personal property for the objects of the corporation; to make contracts and agreements to accomplish the purposes of the corporation; to join other clubs and organizations whether local, State or national to promote the objects of the corporation."

The following were Directors at that time:

Russell Wiles
Robert V. Miner
Stella Roth
Edward Roth
Clifford E. Pearson
Ray Converse
Arthur Bokman

From a letter by Russell Wiles, Jr. in 1954, "As time went on, additional members of the Midway Rifle Club were added. The Midway Rifle Club dissolved because of the inability of the Club to make a deal for the 124th Field Artillery Armory range. This was a 50 yard indoor range with room for about 8 shooters and was really the only reason for the existence of a shooting organization."

'A Short History of the Black Hawk Rifle Club-the First 75 Years' by Hap Rocketto guides readers through the first three quarters of a century of one of the most prestigious smallbore rifle clubs in America the Black Hawk Rifle Club.

The book is available for purchase online and shipped directly to your door for $10 plus shipping at http://www.blurb.com/bookstore/detail/2301175.

All profits are to be divided evenly between the Black Hawk Club and Pronematch.com to help support their efforts in promoting smallbore rifle competition.

Anyone desiring to have the book inscribed by the author need only send it to Hap Rocketto, 18 Stenton Avenue, Westerly, RI 02891, along with a self addressed stamped envelope for return, or hang on to it and find him at his firing point at Camp Perry during the smallbore rifle championships.


Current Officers:

Joe P. Johnson, Jr. - President
Martha Kelley - Vice President
Walt Walter - Executive Officer
Edie P. Fleeman - Secretary/Treasurer


Black Hawk Rifle Club patch

Black Hawk Rifle Club, Inc.
Edie Fleeman, Secretary
5000 Mandel Road
Durham, NC 27712
Phone 919-389-9710